Cassidy Turns Down Major Record Labels

Philadelphia rapper Cassidy recently updated fans on his career status and discussed his reasons for going the independent route.

Along with talking about taking his major label snub, Cass also addressed his rise from freestyles to albums.

“I love hip-hop,” the rapper explained. “I just always wanted to prove that I was better than another rapper. I remember I got on this radio competition in Philly called The Cipher hosted by this DJ named Zulu. I [won] for months at a time. I became a personality, but nobody knew what I looked like. So I started battling dudes face-to-face…The focus and direction of artists [has changed.] It’s bigger than it’s ever been…People [are] making business music as opposed to making good music…Yeah, I don’t want a deal right now. I’d rather have my freedom without people over me telling me what to do. If you was ever in the industry, you’d know what I mean.” (Rolling Out)

G-Unit‘s Lloyd Banks recently spoke on his issues with former major record company Interscope…

conitinue reading from SOHH.com by Cyrus Langhorne

Leave a Reply

