Performance tax raises concerns among radio industry

State lawmakers aren’t the only ones working overtime these days.

Gillmore says songwriters don’t have a chance to sell tickets to a concert and don’t have the…

Congressional lawmakers are also knee-deep is legislation. One bill not getting much attention until now is HR 848, the performance rights tax, and radio stations aren’t happy.

The alternative rock was playing at the 101X studios in Northeast Austin. But Vice President Scott Gillmore thinks Emmis Austin Radio and radio stations across the country are being played by some members of Congress who are pushing for a tax on radio.

“The big international record labels, yes, they are looking for a bailout, and they are looking for it to come from free local radio, and we do not think it’s fair,” Gillmore said.

Record labels want the government to impose a performance tax or fee on local radio stations for airing music free of charge. The money would be funneled to the record companies to compensate artists.

“We pay songwriter royalties to ASCAP, BMI and CSAC, and those royalties get distributed to songwriters,” Gillmore said.

continue reading this informative article from source by JIM BERGAMO / KVUE News

7 thoughts on “Performance tax raises concerns among radio industry

  1. This a little bit funny. I found your site via search engine a few moment ago, and luckily, this is the only information I was looking for the last hours.

  2. This is an affecting take on this topic. I am happy you shared your thoughts and ideas and I find that I agree. I enjoy your coherent writing and the effort you have put into this piece. Thanks for the fine work and good luck with the site, I am looking forward to updates in the future.

  3. WordPress has a zillions pros, too, but it was just a personal preference at the time. Though I’m using WordPress for official purpose due to the fact that I am bothered about moving my data over to Blogengine might create drop in my rankings in Google. So, Im restricting myself to using it at a personal level, once Im able to test things successfully, I might move over with implementing it for my official blog and knowledgebase.

Leave a Reply

