That’s Not My Name

The Ting Tings – That Not My Name (US Version)

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Four little words just to get me along
It’s a difficulty and I’m biting on my tongue and I
I keep stalling, keeping me together
People around gotta find something to say now

Holding back, everyday the same
Don’t wanna be a loner
Listen to me, oh no
I never say anything at all
But with nothing to consider
They forget my name (ame, ame, ame)

They call me ‘hell’
They call me ‘Stacey’
They call me ‘her’
They call me ‘Jane’
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name

They call me ‘quiet girl’
But I’m a riot
Mary, Jo, Lisa
Always the same
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name

I miss the catch if they throw me the ball
I’m the last chick standing up against the wall
Keep up, falling, these heels they keep me boring
Getting clamped up and sitting on the fence now

So alone all the time and I
Lock myself away
Listen to me, I’m not
Although I’m dressed up, out and all with
Everything considered
They forget my name (ame, ame, ame)

They call me ‘hell’
They call me ‘Stacey’
They call me ‘her’
They call me ‘Jane’
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name

They call me ‘quiet girl’
But I’m a riot
Mary, Jo, Lisa
Always the same
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name
That’s not my name

Are, you, calling, me, darling?
Are, you, calling, me, bird?
Are, you, calling, me, darling?
Are, you, calling, me, bird?

Bio: The Ting Tings — a scrappy, dance-oriented indie pop duo consisting of singer/guitarist Katie White and drummer Jules De Martino — formed in the Salford district of Manchester, England, in 2006. Quickly signed to the local indie label Switchflicker Records, the Ting Tings released their debut single, “That’s Not My Name,” in the spring of 2007. Following the limited-edition, tour-only single “Fruit Machine,” the Ting Tings signed to major label Columbia Records later that year. The flip side of the Switchflicker single, “Great DJ,” was released as the duo’s debut major-label single in March 2008, followed by the reissue of “That’s Not My Name” with a new exclusive B-side remix. “That’s Not My Name” rose to the top of the U.K. charts in May 2008, the same month that the duo’s debut album, We Started Nothing, appeared. Stewart Mason, All Music Guide

2 thoughts on “That’s Not My Name

Leave a Reply

